The past few weeks

I’ve been a busy one the past few weeks…

(1) On the way to do a reading with my fellow hattists at the Forge of the Wordsmiths Garden Party last Saturday, I noticed a beautiful piece of artwork on the Royal Mile. The real Edinburgh.

(2) There’s a beehive near my room. They keep flying in the window at night trying to bite me. I had no option but to squish three last week as the wee fuckers wouldn’t shoo back out the window.

(3) A spider called Jeremy was a former resident in my girlfriend’s close on Crow Road last year. He was a really big bastard of a spider. I found out he’s just like Jesus and has come back to life. Maybe he’s the real messiah? I’ll need to remember to sacrifice a bee for him.

(4) I gave up on David Brin’s The Postman. I love post apocalypse books but that one is honking. I managed to finish Yann Martel’s Beatrice and Virgil in one go. It’s a tiny wee book and one of the worst I’ve ever read. I’m now reading John Ajvide Lindqvist’s Let The Right One In. The film was brilliant and the book is turning out even better.

(5) I got confirmation that I’ll be pitching my novel Addendum at the Dragons Pen event at the Edinburgh International Festival next month. I find pitching or summarising my writing really hard. I’ll need to practise so I will.

This entry was posted in Book reading, Book Review, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment