Degree done

It’s been an eventful last few days. On Wednesday I got my final project mark back from uni and I got a distinction. Delighted! That gave me a lot of confidence pitching the idea at the Dragon’s Pen event at the Edinburgh festival last night.

The Dragon’s Pen was mental. The dragons – Francis Bickmore, Charlotte Higgins and Lucy Luck – didn’t hold back one bit and ripped the shit out of nearly everyone’s pitches, myself included. I don’t think they’re fans of post-apocalypse novels, which didn’t give me much hope, but it was a good experience.

Today I was at uni for the final time, getting feedback on my future plans as a writer. My most important short-term goal is finishing my novel ‘Addendum’ in two months time. I’ll then leave it alone for a month or two before editing it. I’ll also be changing the name. ‘Addendum’, as David Bishop said a thousand times, is a shit name. Long-term I’m aiming to get my novel published and have a job within the book trade.

The Creative Writing MA I’ve finished at Napier was brilliant and has done wonders for my writing. I’ve learned more this year than I ever did in four years studying economics and marketing in my last degree.

This is Shuggie, a big fucking spider I found in my kitchen. Shuggie now happily lives in the greenhouse.

This entry was posted in Book reading, Dragon's Pen, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment